Friday, August 1, 2014

2014 Circle of Life Award® Presented

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and the National Hospice Foundation honor the recipients of the 2014 Circle of Life Award®.  Presented on July 21 at the American Hospital Association’s annual summit held in San Diego, the award celebrates innovation in end-of-life care and highlights programs that demonstrate superior vision, depth, and scope. 

The 2014 Circle of Life Award honorees are:
  • Baylor Health Care System Supportive and Palliative Care Services, Dallas, Texas
  • Lehigh Valley Health Network, Allentown, Pennsylvania
  • Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital and Foundation, Yakima, Washington
In announcing the honored recipients, AHA emphasized that the programs share overriding themes of creating and championing the role of palliative care through the community.

In addition to the three award winners, AHA presented a Citation of Honor to the Center for Palliative and Supportive Care, Ambulatory Program, University of Alabama at Birmingham.

“These programs serve as models for us all as we move forward in our shared goal of providing the highest quality of care for all those we serve,” said J. Donald Schumacher, NHPCO and NHF president and CEO. “We are proud to celebrate those care providers that are leading the way in innovation and quality care delivery.”

Since 2000, the Circle of Life Award has honored programs that demonstrate excellence and innovation in palliative and end-of-life care. Further information about the honorees and the Circle of Life Award is available at the AHA website.

The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and the National Hospice Foundation are major sponsors of the 2014 award, as is the American Hospital Association and the Catholic Health Association of the United States.

Left to right: Dr. Jonathan Perlin, American Hospital Association Board; Dr. Elizabeth Kvale, University of Alabama Birmingham; Diane Patterson, Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital; Donna Stevens, Lehigh Valley Health Network; Dr. Robert L. Fine, Baylor Health Care System; Mary Starmann-Harrison, AHA’s Executive Committee.

No comments: